Porsche Mission S mid-engine supercar concept compared with the Tesla Roadster electric sports car following their October 2026 reveals
Language

Porsche Mission S vs Tesla Roadster: Two Reveals, One Big Question

On 15 October 2026, Porsche and Tesla each unveiled a halo car. Set Porsche Mission S vs Tesla Roadster side by side and the striking thing is not the cars. It is what each company decided to tell you.

Porsche showed a finished shape and published not a single number. Tesla published numbers for everything and no price. Both are being written up as supercars, and only one of them is a car you will ever be able to buy and drive.

Before the comparison, one correction. Tesla's thrusters are not rocket thrusters. More on that below, because it matters.

What Each Company Actually Published


This is the honest version of a spec comparison. Half the Porsche column does not exist, and that absence is the story.

  Mission S Roadster
Powertrain not stated electric
Layout mid-engine not stated
0–60 mph not stated claimed, by variant
Design fully detailed shown, less detailed
Price not stated not announced
Production date not stated targeted 2028
What it is vision model reservable product

Every Tesla performance figure in this article is Tesla's own claim. None has been independently tested, and no test conditions were given for any of them.

The Porsche: A Platform, Not a Showpiece


Porsche unveiled the Mission S on a pier in Queens, facing Manhattan. It is a vision model previewing a mid-engined platform positioned above the 911.

The sentence that matters came from Dr Michael Leiters, Chairman of the Executive Board of Porsche AG, who described the plan as “not as a one-off hypercar, but as a permanent and versatile addition to our customer offering.” A platform means several cars over several years.

You can read Porsche's official Mission S announcement yourself. It runs to a full description of the body, the cockpit, the colours and eight of Porsche's own heritage models — and gives no power figure, no weight, no dimension, no price and no date.

Porsche Mission S Engine: What Can Honestly Be Said


Porsche has not said whether the Mission S is petrol, hybrid or electric. Anything you read naming an engine is somebody's guess.

What Porsche has published, though, points one way. A teaser clip from its own newsroom account showed the car's digital tachometer sweeping to an 8,000 rpm redline. The reveal then showed an analogue rev-counter needle and a height-adjustable gear lever.

Three published details, none of which belong in a single-speed electric car. That is an inference drawn from Porsche's own material, not a specification — and it is as far as the evidence honestly goes.

The Tesla: Three Variants, and the Fine Print


Tesla revealed the Roadster at SpaceX's McGregor facility in Texas, in three configurations.

Variant 0–60 mph Notes
Performance under 1.6 s two seats
Thrust under 0.9 s adds rear thrusters
Rocket under 0.59 s single seat, not road legal

Tesla's claims. Range is given as more than 300 miles, about 483 km, with no test cycle named, and the Rocket's top speed as above 230 mph or 370 km/h.

Read that last row again. The car everyone is talking about — the one that left the ground twice at the event — seats one person and is not approved for public roads. It is invitation-only.

The Rocket is 2.7 times quicker to 60 mph than the Performance on Tesla's own numbers, and reservations run from US$50,000 for the Performance to US$250,000 for the Thrust, five times as much. No final price for any variant has been announced.

They Are Not Rocket Thrusters


The thrusters run on compressed air stored in carbon-fibre pressure vessels. They are cold-gas thrusters. There is no rocket fuel and nothing is burned.

Cold gas is genuinely how spacecraft make small attitude corrections, so the SpaceX lineage is real. But the word “rocket” here is the name of the variant, not a description of the propulsion.

The practical consequence is simple. Compressed air runs out, and refilling a pressure vessel is not the same as charging a battery. Tesla did not state how long the thrusters operate, how long the car flew, or how high it went.

The Number Tesla Did Not Put on Screen


When Tesla first unveiled this car in 2017, it promised 0–60 mph in 1.9 seconds and 620 miles of range. The 2026 car claims under 1.6 seconds, about 16% quicker.

The range is now given as more than 300 miles. That is a fall of roughly 52% against the original promise. Nine years of development made the car quicker and halved how far it goes, and the target for customers moved to 2028 — eleven years after the first unveiling.

Porsche Mission S vs Tesla Roadster: Which Is More Promising?


Nobody can tell you which is faster, because one of them has published no performance figure at all. What can be judged is how solid each promise looks, and that is a view rather than a fact.

Porsche has committed to a platform with no date. Tesla has committed to a date with no price, on a car whose original promise has already slipped by nine years and whose most spectacular version cannot be registered.

A date you can miss is worth less than a direction you intend to keep. On the published record the Porsche looks the more likely to become something a customer drives — and the Tesla is, for now, the better show.

What Any of This Means Here


Neither car is coming to Pakistan, and pretending otherwise would be silly. What does travel down from cars like these is the engineering — thermal management, aerodynamics and battery packaging reach ordinary EVs within a decade.

For anyone actually buying electric here, the useful reading is closer to home: our guide to buying an EV in Pakistan, where you can charge it in EV charging stations in Pakistan, and the running-cost case in electric vehicles and rising petrol costs.

Final Thoughts


Two halo cars revealed on the same day, by two companies with opposite ideas of what a reveal is for. Porsche gave a shape, a platform promise above the 911 and no numbers. Tesla gave claimed numbers, three variants and a 2028 target, with no price.

Two things are worth remembering past the headlines. Tesla's thrusters are compressed air, not rockets. And the flying one seats a single person and cannot be driven on a road.

15+ years in business · In-house fitting in Multan · Nationwide delivery · Exact-fit products, never universal

Browse All Car Accessories →

Questions about what fits your car? Contact us — 0321-1117525 · Open Mon–Sun, 9am–9pm.

Frequently Asked Questions


Which is faster, the Porsche Mission S or the Tesla Roadster?▾
There is no answer yet. Porsche has published no acceleration, power or top-speed figure for the Mission S. Tesla claims under 0.59 seconds to 60 mph for its single-seat Rocket variant, but that is Tesla's own untested claim about a machine that is not road legal, so there is nothing comparable to measure it against.
Does the Tesla Roadster really use rocket thrusters?▾
Not in the usual sense. They are cold-gas thrusters fed by compressed air held in carbon-fibre pressure vessels, so nothing burns and there is no rocket propellant. Spacecraft do use cold gas for small manoeuvres, so the SpaceX connection is genuine, but Rocket is the name Tesla gave the variant rather than a description of how it works.
Can you actually buy the flying Tesla?▾
Not in any ordinary way. The variant that leaves the ground is a single-seater offered by invitation only, and it has not been approved for use on public roads. The two versions you can place a reservation on do not fly.
Is the Porsche Mission S electric or petrol?▾
Porsche has not said. Its own teaser clip did show a tachometer running up to 8,000 rpm, and the cabin shown at the reveal has a needle on its rev counter and a lever for the gears. None of that fits a single-speed electric car, so it is a strong hint — but a hint is all it is until Porsche confirms the powertrain.
When will each car arrive?▾
Tesla is targeting 2028, which would be eleven years after it first unveiled this Roadster in 2017. Porsche has given no date at all, saying only that the ideas shown will reach its range soon. A target that has already slipped once is not the same as a schedule.
What do the two cars cost?▾
Neither price exists. Porsche has announced nothing. Tesla has published reservation amounts only — US$50,000 for the Performance and US$250,000 for the Thrust — and says the final figure is still to come. A deposit is not a price.
Is the Mission S positioned above the 911?▾
Yes, and that part is official. Porsche describes a mid-engined super sports car platform sitting above the 911, and its chairman called it a permanent and versatile addition to the range rather than a one-off. The 911 keeps its own place and its rear-engine layout.
Will either be sold in Pakistan?▾
There is no indication of it, and no price or launch plan exists for either car anywhere. Treat both as engineering showcases whose ideas filter down to ordinary vehicles over the following decade rather than as cars to wait for.
Previous Next

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.