McDonald's Pakistan and StarCharge sign EV charging MoU | Asad Autos
Language

McDonald’s Pakistan & StarCharge Sign EV Charging MoU

McDonald's Pakistan and the Chinese charging company StarCharge signed a memorandum of understanding on 19 October 2026 covering EV charging facilities at McDonald's outlets that have drive-through service.

It is a step towards more EV charging stations in Pakistan. It is also, at this stage, a memorandum and the announcement contains no station count, no named locations, no charger specification, no cost and no timeline.

For where the country's charging network actually stands today, our standing guide to EV charging stations in Pakistan is the reference page; this piece covers the news.

What Was Actually Signed


According to the state news agency's report, the agreement is a memorandum of understanding between StarCharge and McDonald's Pakistan, and the signing ceremony was addressed by federal minister Rana Tanveer Hussain.

The scope as reported is specific in one respect and vague in every other: charging facilities at McDonald's locations that offer drive-through service.

Worth being clear about what that document is. An MoU records an intention to work together. It is not a construction contract, not a committed budget and not an approval to connect anything to the grid.

What the Announcement Does Not Say


This is the part that decides how much weight to give the news, and it is a long list.

Question Answered?
How many chargers Not stated
Which outlets, and in which cities Only "drive-through"
Charger type and power rating Not stated
Investment, and who funds it Not stated
Installation or opening timeline Not stated
Whether any station will be built Not confirmed

Based on the state news agency's report of the signing. Nothing here is operational, and no McDonald's outlet in Pakistan has been announced as having a charger.

This Is StarCharge's Second Pakistani MoU This Year


Here is the context missing from most coverage. In July 2026, StarCharge Energy Pakistan signed a separate memorandum in Islamabad with Bahum Global Pakistan, aimed at strengthening the country's EV ecosystem through international collaboration, local manufacturing and technology transfer.

A Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Industries and Production attended that one as chief guest. It too carried no Pakistani station numbers, no investment figure and no timeline  the only number quoted was StarCharge's global claim of up to two million chargers worldwide.

So that is two memoranda in three months, each with a government figure present, and not one number attached to Pakistan in either.

None of that is improper an MoU is a normal first step. It is simply worth knowing that a memorandum is not a charger, and that the test of this one will be a connected, working unit at a named outlet.

Why Drive-Throughs Make Unusual Sense


The drive-through condition is the genuinely clever part, and it is not an accident.

A drive-through site already has most of what a charging point needs: a forecourt with room to queue clear of the road, an existing commercial power connection, long opening hours with staff on site, lighting and security and customers who stay for twenty to thirty minutes.

That dwell time is the key. Twenty-five minutes is close to useless on a slow AC charger and genuinely valuable on a fast DC one, which is why fast food and fast charging fit together better than they first appear.

The obstacle is rarely the site or the willingness. It is electricity the cost and lead time of upgrading to a high-power connection, and whether supply is steady enough to run it.

That is precisely why announcements are easier to produce than chargers, and why the right thing to watch is the first working unit rather than the next ceremony. It is also why the count of EV charging stations in Pakistan has grown more slowly than the announcements have.

One Number in the Coverage, and What It Isn't


The reports of the signing carry a single figure: a national goal, attributed to the Prime Minister, that 30 per cent of vehicles should be electric.

That is a target for the vehicle fleet, not a charging target. It says nothing about how many chargers exist today or how many are planned, and the two should not be read as the same ambition.

A fleet target without a charging plan is precisely the gap this MoU gestures at which is rather the point of it.

What It Would Mean for EV Owners Here


If chargers do appear at drive-through outlets, the benefit is destination charging in places that are open late, easy to find and safe to wait at which matters more for confidence than raw charger counts do.

It would also spread charging into urban and roadside commercial sites rather than concentrating it on highways, where most of the existing network sits. Our coverage of charging on the motorways and highways shows how that gap currently looks.

For anyone weighing an EV now, charging access remains the thing to plan around rather than the thing to hope for — our EV buying guide for Pakistan covers how to work that out before you buy, and if you already run an EV, our BYD car accessories are fitted in-house in Multan.

Final Thoughts


A memorandum signed on 19 October to explore charging at drive-through McDonald's outlets is a reasonable idea in a sensible place, and it is StarCharge's second such document in Pakistan this year. Neither carried a single number for this country.

Treat it as intent, not infrastructure. The moment worth reporting will be the first working charger at a named outlet — and we will update this article when there is one.

15+ years in business · In-house fitting in Multan · Nationwide delivery · Exact-fit products, never universal

Browse All Car Accessories →

Questions about what fits your car? Contact us — 0321-1117525 · Open Mon–Sun, 9am–9pm.

Frequently Asked Questions


Has McDonald's Pakistan partnered with StarCharge?▾
Yes — the two put their names to a memorandum on 19 October 2026, with a federal minister addressing the ceremony, covering charging facilities at outlets equipped with drive-through lanes. A memorandum sets out an intention to cooperate; it is not a building contract, a funded budget or a grid approval.
Will McDonald's install chargers across Pakistan?▾
Nothing of the sort has been confirmed. The announcement named no outlets, no cities, no quantity of units and no completion dates, and it did not establish that even one installation will proceed. Treating a nationwide rollout as settled would go well beyond what either party has actually said.
When would these chargers open?▾
No schedule was given at all — not a start date, not a target year, not a pilot site. In practice the binding constraint on projects like this is the electricity supply rather than the premises, since upgrading to a high-power connection takes both money and time.
Why pick drive-through locations?▾
Because such a site already supplies much of what a charging point requires: space to wait off the carriageway, a commercial electricity connection, long hours with staff present, lighting and security. Add customers who linger for twenty-odd minutes and the timing suits rapid direct-current charging rather neatly.
Is this StarCharge's first agreement in Pakistan?▾
No. Three months earlier its local arm signed a separate memorandum in Islamabad with another company, directed at local manufacturing and technology transfer, again with a senior government figure present. That document likewise contained no figure for stations, spending or dates specific to this country.
Does the 30 per cent electric goal mean more chargers are coming?▾
Not by itself. That ambition concerns the proportion of vehicles on the road, which is a separate matter from how much charging equipment is installed. A fleet objective with no accompanying charging programme is exactly the mismatch this sort of arrangement is meant to address.
Previous Next

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.