GAC AION UT Cross electric car revealed with a claimed 400 km range and key features for EV buyers.
Language

GAC AION UT Cross Revealed: 400 km Range & Key Features

GAC has given the AION UT Cross its global debut at the Paris Motor Show, claiming up to 400 km of WLTP range and fast charging from 30% to 80% in 24 minutes.

It is a crossover version of the AION UT hatchback that Lucky Motor Corporation already sells here, alongside the rest of the GAC AION range launched in Pakistan.

That 400 km figure is where this story gets interesting, because the AION UT on sale here is also quoted at 400 km and the two numbers do not mean the same thing at all.

What GAC Has Actually Confirmed


GAC's own announcement is short on the numbers enthusiasts want and specific about the ones it does give. Everything below is from GAC's release.

Item GAC's figure
Range Up to 400 km WLTP
Fast charging 30–80% in 24 minutes
Wheelbase 2,750 mm
Luggage space 440 litres
Ground clearance 147 mm fully loaded
Battery "Magazine Battery" — no capacity given
Motor output Not stated
On-sale date, price, markets Not stated

Where GAC gives no figure, we are not supplying one. Battery capacity and power output are both circulating online; neither appears in the company's announcement.

The 400 km Trap


The Cross's 400 km is a WLTP figure. The AION UT sold in Pakistan is reported at 335 km WLTP and separately at 400 km NEDC.

NEDC is an older, gentler test than WLTP and produces noticeably higher numbers from the same car. So the two 400s are not comparable, and the Cross is not offering "the same range" as the car already on sale here.

Compared properly, WLTP against WLTP, it is 400 km against 335 km. That is a real improvement  just not the one a quick glance suggests.

The Charging Numbers Don't Line Up Either

GAC quotes the Cross at 30–80% in 24 minutes. The Pakistan UT is reported at 10–80% in around 40 minutes. Those are different windows a 50-point top-up against a 70-point one so the gap between them is smaller than the raw minutes imply.

AION UT vs AION UT Cross


The honest answer is that a full comparison is not yet possible, because GAC has published a different set of details for the Cross than exists for the hatchback.

What is clear is the positioning. The UT is a compact hatchback; the Cross is a crossover-styled version, with 147 mm of ground clearance fully loaded, a 2,750 mm wheelbase and 440 litres of boot space.

GAC also says the Cross was tuned for European roads, and that the existing UT and AION V are built in Europe and carry a five-star Euro NCAP rating. Those claims are about the current cars  GAC gives no crash rating for the Cross itself.

For how the hatchback stacks up against rivals you can actually buy here, we have compared it with the Chery Q and with the ARCFOX T1 Max.

AION UT Cross Launch Date


A reveal is not a launch, and this was a reveal. GAC's announcement gives no on-sale date, no pricing and no list of launch markets.

A 2027 European launch is being quoted in places. It is not in GAC's release, so we are treating it as unconfirmed rather than printing it as a date.

Is the AION UT Cross Coming to Pakistan?


Nothing official says so. No Pakistan launch, timeline or price has been announced for the Cross, and we are not going to invent one.

What is here is the hatchback. The AION UT was launched in Pakistan in May 2026 by Lucky Motor Corporation, alongside the AION V and the Hyptec HT, with the AION ES still to be priced at that point.

The UT's ex-factory price was reported then as Rs6,399,000, with a Rs1,000,000 booking amount. That was May 2026 and ex-factory, so treat it as a reference point rather than today's on-road figure, and confirm the current price with the dealer.

What a Buyer Should Check

If you are looking at the AION UT here rather than waiting for a Cross that has no local date, the questions worth asking are about the Pakistan-market car specifically: its battery capacity and chemistry, which test cycle its range figure comes from, its DC charging power, and the battery warranty.

It also helps to see the field. Our overview of EVs you can buy in Pakistan covers what else is on sale at this end of the market.

Final Thoughts


The AION UT Cross is a crossover take on a hatchback Pakistan already gets, with a genuine WLTP range improvement and quick DC charging on GAC's own numbers.

Two cautions. GAC has published no battery capacity and no power output, so figures you see for those are not from the company. And the car's 400 km is WLTP, which is not the same 400 km quoted on NEDC for the UT sold here.

For Pakistan, nothing has been announced. If you are weighing an EV now, our EV buying guide for Pakistan is the place to start.

15+ years in business · In-house fitting in Multan · Nationwide delivery · Exact-fit products, never universal

Browse All Car Accessories →

Questions about what fits your car? Contact us — 0321-1117525 · Open Mon–Sun, 9am–9pm.

Frequently Asked Questions


What is the range of the GAC AION UT Cross?▾
GAC states up to 400 km on the WLTP cycle. Real-world range varies with speed, temperature, road conditions and air conditioning use. Note that this is a WLTP figure — the AION UT sold in Pakistan is reported at 335 km WLTP, and its own 400 km figure is NEDC, which is a more optimistic test.
What battery does the AION UT Cross use?▾
GAC describes a high-safety "Magazine Battery" but has not published a capacity figure for the Cross. Capacity numbers circulating online do not come from GAC's announcement, so we are not repeating them.
How much power does the AION UT Cross produce?▾
GAC has not stated a motor output for the Cross. Any power figure you see has not come from the company's release, so treat it as unconfirmed until GAC publishes the full specification.
How fast does the AION UT Cross charge?▾
GAC says fast charging from 30% to 80% takes 24 minutes. Charger power is not stated. Compare that carefully with other cars, since charging times are quoted over different windows — the Pakistan AION UT, for instance, is reported at 10–80% in about 40 minutes.
When will the AION UT Cross launch?▾
GAC's announcement gives no on-sale date, no pricing and no specific launch markets. It was a global debut, and the company says the car was developed with European needs in mind. A 2027 European launch is being quoted elsewhere but does not appear in GAC's release.
What is the AION UT Cross price in Pakistan?▾
There is no Pakistan price, because the Cross has not been announced for Pakistan. For reference, the AION UT hatchback that is on sale here was reported at an ex-factory price of Rs6,399,000 when it launched in May 2026. We are not publishing an estimated price for a model with no local launch.
Is the AION UT Cross officially coming to Pakistan?▾
No announcement has been made. What is available locally is the AION UT hatchback, launched in May 2026 by Lucky Motor Corporation alongside the AION V and Hyptec HT. Not listed for Pakistan is not the same as ruled out — it simply means nothing has been confirmed.
Previous Next

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.